Anyone have any experience outsourcing?

I’m looking at outsourcing support for a business of mine to India and was wondering if anyone had any experience or tips?

Thanks in advance!

I have a lot of outsourcing experience. My best advice would be to have a robust hiring process so you don’t end up hiring people that don’t know what they’re doing.

Here’s what I do, feel free to adapt it for yourself:

1. Post a job/project
  2. Review the applications for experience and good writing/communication.
  3. Email/message each applicant I’m interested in with a few questions about the specific project.
  4. When I get replies, I want to see they have good English I can understand and good answers backing up their experience. I also want to see that they reply quickly and answer my questions in detail. Anyone that is too sow to respond, doesn’t answer each question or that doesn’t provide much detail is out.
  5. I’ll message the best ones back with a few more detailed questions.
  6. I’ll look for relies that again are prompt and detailed.
  7. Out of the second set of replies, I’ll schedule 3-5 video calls on Skype to interview them.
  8. During the video interview, I want to see that they can communicate well, that I understand what they’re saying and that they know what they’re talking about as it relates to the project.
  9. After the interviews, I’ll give the top 1, 2 or 3 candidates a very small project/task to work on to see how their actual quality of work is. I do pay them for this.
  10. Whoever returns the best results on the small test project gets more work.

This definitely isn’t a fast process, but it ends up saving you hours and days of frustration in that you avoid a lot of bad hires from the start.

Overall, I want to see that people that will be on me team are detail oriented, can communicate well, are organized, are available and quick to reply, and most of all can deliver quality work.