Does Paypal Buyer protection also protect services?

I am about to outsource some work to third party and he wants me to pay directly through Paypal rather than going through Upwork since Upwork take some fee from services provided. So,Does Payapal Buyer protection also protect for services?

I have no firsthand knowledge, but you might want to contact PayPal customer service and ask them via email or phone. I’m fairly sure PayPal protection would be in place

https://www.paypal.com/us/selfhelp/contact/email

The fee is worth it for the protection. If you’re going to be doing it long term you might so off their system, but start out using Upwork to be safe. If they insist on going off Upwork, I’d report them. In my experience with Paypal, it could go either way. But they don’t verify whether or not a service was provided, and Upwork does.

1 Like

Hmm… I remember that BrandonBerner ever say that Paypal protection is siding much more to the buyer compared to the seller

That’s been the case for years, but not always. Better safe than sorry.

But 20%/10% is quite a lot especially since I am looking for long term relationship

Upwork is charging a 20% to the freelancer. I also ask my clients to work directly with me after the first job. If the buyer pays via ‘goods and services’ they are protected by Paypal.

Yeah, that is what I do as well

I would suggest hiring them for a small test on upwork so you can build trust, and they can quickly get a good review on their profile to boost their upwork success score. After that you could move to paypal, and both parties would be happy.

1 Like

Well… the seller already have some good review on upwork…