How would you teach a young person about internet marketing?

My 23 year old son has expressed an interest in starting an online business. Since I’ve been doing it for close to three decades, you can imagine how supportive I am of the idea.

He wants me to teach him how to get started but here’s the problem – I know so much and have been doing this for so long that my “beginner’s mind” is pretty much a distant memory. I’d like to take it slow with him and not overwhelm him, and I want him to really understand concepts like value, messaging and finding your niche. I also want him to learn the mindset basics that lead to success. And I want to do ith without bombarding him with all the info I have in my head.

So, I’d love to hear your opinions about the books, courses, videos, authors, experts, etc. that you’d suggest offering to a total newbie to help them get their feet planted and ready for success. I want to take it one step a time with him, so let’s begin at the absolute beginning.

Thoughts?

1 Like

what nice thing , i think you better give him some books to start with while talkin with him about your decisions and strategies and why you did this and did not otherwise and the best of all is to pull him in with you by starting something that both of you are passionned about

good luck to him and to you too

As a kid myself (younger than your son), doing internet marketing, I’ve had lots of friends who’ve seen my Stripe/PayPal balance history, or a big Instagram account of mine, and express a huge interest, but when they ask me how I do it, they switch off/don’t fully understand what I’m talking about.

When people ask me how to get tons of likes on Instagram for example, because I’ve been doing it for so long, there’s no way I can think of to simplify it, all I can do is explain the Instagram algorithm which they don’t understand, because to understand that they need to have ground layers of understanding.