I'm a newly appointed marketing/social media manager - HELP!

Hello! :wave:

I’m Helen, and I’ve been an Online Community Manager for the last few years (I :heart: Discourse!)

My partner has recently founded a SaaS company, and I said I would help him with the marketing and social media, whilst he focuses on the product. I love writing and creating content, so I thought why not! :writing_hand: :books:

However, I’ve never done anything like this before, and I’m not really sure where to start!

We’ve decided we’ll launch with LinkedIn and then maybe branch out to Twitter/X and maybe TikTok. I am in the middle of drafting welcome emails. And once the website is live, we’ll start working on the SEO pieces (joint effort coz my partner is a website wiz, but I can help write content etc). :computer:

Is there anything I’m missing? Has anyone got any top tips for when you are starting out and launching a brand new company?

Thank yous :smiling_face_with_three_hearts:

2 Likes

If this is isn’t the right community to post this in, please can you recommend somewhere else? :blush:

Hey!

Regardless of the niche of the SaaS, you don’t want to miss out on Facebook Groups! They are a highly converting area of the Meta platform and it’s madly underrated.

In the groups you want to start making people talk about your product, so instead of going directly to advertise it like “hey guys, we have this SaaS”, you would want to go with topics such as “hey, anyone tested this SaaS yet? We just discovered it and it seems like a mad deal, but we would like to ask others about their experience with it first in order to make the best possible decision”

By doing that, you will switch the advertising phase from being aggressive towards spamming the brand like everyone to being smart and controling how and how nice people are talking about your product. Plus, you can make it look more serious.

Having regular content on brand pages will also greatly increase conversion rate.