Keep the hashtags long term?

Opinions on keeping the hashtags? I’m an visual artist – I put 25 or so and I was deleting then a couple weeks after posting. I think long term the clean look is nice, and you would think the benefits of more like, would be over. But a potential client said he searched some term and found me (and that must have been months after a post… )

So they are real ugly and pollute the brand… on one hand, but could bring business. Trade off? Any opinions from the experts? Thanks.

What looks ugly to you doesn’t necessarily looks ugly for ordinary Instagram users.

Hashtags are good for exposure, IG users are bombarded with them daily and got used to it, so I don’t really think you should delete them after some time.

3 Likes

As Adnan said, hashtags are really good for exposure. If you are looking for organic growth, hashtags are still the #1 way to do it on Insta right now.

But you’re right, for a brand, using a lot of hashtags looks spammy. Insta gives you an option to put in 30 hashtags… what I usually do is to decide how many of these to use depending on the brand I’m working for. If it’s a really big brand or someone who thinks they have a big brand, I go for 1-5 hashtags - usually with 1 or 2 branded and the others very generic/high volume hashtags (like #nature). And for the smallest ones, the ones who need every single click, like and impression, I use 2-3 sets of 30 hashtags with a good balance between high, medium and low volume tags which are renewed on a quarterly basis. And it works - it gets them clients.

So decide how many clients you have, how many clients you want, and how you want your brand to be seen and you’ll be able to decide.