New Clients Asking For References...But Im Just A Noob

Hey guys, I just got into Instagram growth management. Have been able to send cold emails to new prospects and I’ve got these two guys who are ready to jump on board with me. But they need to see some accounts I have managed. But I don’t have any and i don’t want them knowing they are my first.

Is there a way I can go about this, i have tried telling them that there is a non-disclosure agreement with my clients but this statement is not holding with these guys. They just need proof. Any help/advise to get these clients will mean the entire world to me…Thanks.

1 Like

Veritas. Tell the truth and give them a discount. They are your learning experience so they shouldn’t have to pay premium. If you’re really inexperienced you may risk their accounts in the process which is just plain unethical. The worst people to work with in the world are those who won’t admit mistakes or the potential to make them.

1 Like

these people need an expert. And that’s what i claim to be (I’ve only worked as a VA in a growth agency, did the bulk of the work) Letting them know that I’ve not handled a client of my own makes me look more like an inexperienced person. But then you are right. i should have told them they are my first and offer them discounts.

Do you think i can still salvage the situation by telling them the truth when ive already mentioned that I handle some accounts and I have a non-disclosure agreement and stuffs like that?

I think that’s better than still playing along being an expert, then them discovering this later on. Be honest with them.

1 Like

it’s just that it’s quite hard to get a client when you don’t have a reference. But like you guys mentioned i should have come out real just like it is…no reference sir, but will offer you discount…

And you may start growing some accounts now, so you can have references in the future :slightly_smiling_face:

1 Like