Really struggling to grow my following

Like the title says, I’m struggling!

I’m very new to this and my general strategy to gaining followers is very basic and quite possibly very outdated.

I’ve currently set my follow sources to friends and active followers of some accounts who match my target market and unfollow within a day if no follow back. My follow settings are tweeted with the past 5 days, has at between 10 - 300 followers and followings (I’m not quite sure if this is optimal or not, but I’m trying to weed out other promo accounts and invaluable users who’ll never notice my tweets) I have no settings on follow/following ratio.

I have a user avatar of a realistically attractive girl, because my target market is majorly males aged 18-30.

I don’t have retweet, favourite or mention/comment operations running.

I’m following between 400-600 daily.

I upload some relevant content a couple times a day and a few ‘realistic’ tweets to make the account feel more genuine.

I have had my settings like this (with a few tweaks here and there) for 2 weeks and only gained 150 followers. Can anyone see anything wrong with what I’m doing so far? Or am I expecting too much?

1 Like

Honestly that seems all pretty accurate for getting things going. The one thing I’d aim for is engaging and retweeting, because Twitter is seen as a conversational platform and if you’re just posting stuff and following, people won’t necessarily follow back. I don’t know if that return is a terrible ratio for Twitter, it might be a bit lower than average but it’s not as horrible as my Instagram return.