Sim card readers

Hello all - disclaimer I am a newbie to SM. i have been reading about people using USB sim card readers and sim cards.
Are these used for verification of accounts? if so how do you receive the text? is that software you put on your computer? or do you just swap sims out of your phone?

I haven’t personally tried sim card readers but using my phone and changing the sim card of it will do the job. Will wait for others to chime in though.

Yes, there are people doing this. A sim card reader is a device that will allow you to get the sms on your computer instead of your phone and you can switch sim cards a lot faster that on some phones… that’s basically it.

The one thing I have a hard time understanding about computer SIM card readers is how do they connect to the cell tower. Dont they need the be able to receive incoming tower signals? All of the USB readers I have seen look just like SD card readers. I assume these USB SIM card readers are only for reading whats currently on the SIM rather than receiving new information from the cellular network.

Am I wrong? or am I looking at the wrong USB SIM card readers?

1 Like

Yeah, that’s what I think too. That’s why I got one from ebay, chinese stuff, cheap as hell :slight_smile:
still haven’t tried it, but by looking at it I don’t think this crap can receive messages :smiley: There goes my $1.20…

Happy to hear im not alone. You should try it to solve the question once and for all :slight_smile:

I highly doubt it would work, otherwise why on earth would they make and sell these:

https://www.alibaba.com/trade/search?IndexArea=product_en&SearchText=32_sim_card_modem_pool&atm=&f0=y&moqf=MOQF&moqt=MOQT1

These also look promising for dirt cheep:

https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/High-Quality-HSDPA-3G-unlocked-modem_770135222.html

1 Like

yep, saw that earlier, even talked with one of the sellers. too expensive for chinese stuff.