Weird like-follow conversion

Hey there!

I am an Artist and got a following of around 5k.
I have been using Instagram for a year now and there is something that still confuses me a lot.

Lets comapre two posts I promoted with 10€ and same target audience, similar and relevant hashtags:

1. 20k reach, 1,5k likes, 5 comments, 900 profile visits, 134 saved as favorite > 91 follows
  2. 30k reach, 9k likes, 5 comments, 170 profile visits, 64 saved as favorite > 10 follows

The percentage that came from the promotion is also about the same. That really confuses me. Almost 10k people liked what they saw and only 10 decided to follow. That just seems weird. Especially the differnce in profile visits!

Do you have any idea what is happening here? I got other posts that are similar. The conversion just seems too bad the be random. From an artists perspective the 2nd post has even higher quallity.

I dont do art for gaining followers. I love the process of creating and doing it every day really pushes me forward but of course I want to reach people with my art and make them connect to it. Its so rewarding.

Would be really nice if someone has an idea.

Kinds regards,
Nick

2 Likes

Do you have a business account? Did the first post hit explore?

I have a business account. What do you mean by hit explore?
It wasnt my first promotion. And it was not shared or featured.

How about testing your second post with some call to action words?

If you check your post’s insights, at the bottom you can see the number of Impressions and where they came from. Some of the variables such as “From home” “Other” and “From profile” always seem to be there, whilst others such as “From hashtags”, “From location” and “From Explore” are optional. The first two depend on whether you used hashtags and whether you tagged a location.